Forensics Students Honored for Outstdanding Service, Merit


Entomology Department Head Dr. David Ragsdale, far left, stands with Courtney Weldon, Barrett Riddle, center, and Jeffrey Ng, right, during the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences annual convocation. Photo by Rebecca Hapes.

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — Three Forensic and Investigative Sciences students were recently recognized at the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences’ annual Spring Awards Convocation on April 12.

Seniors Courtney Weldon, Barrett Riddle, and Jeffrey Ng received Senior Merit Awards for their leadership, scholarship and service at the department, college and university level.  The Texas A&M College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Senior Merit Award is the highest award given to undergraduates by the College. Senior Merit Awards have been given by our college at this convocation for more than 50 years.  Junior Emily Buckley is an Entomology student who was selected for an internship with the Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy program and Erin will work as an ANRP intern in Washington, D.C. this summer.

Weldon is a senior Forensic and Investigative Sciences major and is from College Station. She has served of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, the National Society of Leadership and Success, and Sigma Alpha Lambda. She has served as the vice president for 2 years and director of public relations for the American Medical Student Association from 2011-2012.

In 2012, she participated in the Summer Program for Undergraduate Research program, or SPUR, an undergraduate research program that provides students experience in research in the field of forensic and investigative sciences. She has been involved in other service opportunities, such as the Courtney Grimshaw Fowler Equine Therapeutic Program at Freeman Arena and writing letters to Marines deployed in Afghanistan.

“Receiving this award reminded me of everyone I am thankful for during my undergraduate degree at Texas A&M,” Weldon said. “I would not be where I am today without the support and guidance of the department, my friends and family.”

Riddle is a senior Forensic and Investigative Sciences major from Port Neches. He has been involved with many student organizations, including the Entomology Scholars Society, the Community Assessment of Community Annotations with Ontologies (CACAO), and the Aggie Forensic and Investigative Sciences Organization.

For community service, Riddle has participated in the 2012 Big Event, and served as a mentor at the Brazos Valley Juvenile Services, as well as volunteering at Christus St. Mary Hospital. He has received numerous awards including the Gamma Sigma Delta Award and the Deans Honor Roll in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

“Receiving the senior merit award really meant a lot to me. I feel that it really shows how outstanding the department of entomology is that three of our graduating seniors received this award,” Riddle said. “Receiving an award of this magnitude is not something that can be attributed to only the recipient. We received our awards with the help of our amazing professors and advisors.”

Ng is a senior forensic and investigative sciences major from Missouri City, Texas. He is currently a prayer team leader for the Asian American InterVarsity and plays the E-flat clarinet for the Texas A&M Wind Symphony. He also was a member of the Company V-1, Squadron 20 of the Texas A&M Corp of Cadets, where he served as platoon officer and scholastic officer and squad leader. He also has served as president of the Texas A&M Hong Kong Students Association, as well as a Counselor at the 2010 Fish Camp.

Ng also has been very active in the community and volunteers at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Bryan in the Medical Staff Services Department and served as a volunteer at the Big Event and participated in the March to the Brazos fundraiser for the March of Dimes.

Eligible students must be projected to graduate during the 2014 calendar year. Nominations are received from each major and the final selection of winners is made by the college scholarship committee.

Comments are closed.