Forensics Students Recognized During Annual Banquet

Dr. Pete Teel giving a speech

Dr. Pete Teel giving an inspirational speech to parents and students during the banquet..

COLLEGE STATION, Texas—The cool mid-April air was a perfect setting for the Department of Entomology’s annual Undergraduate Recognition Banquet on Thursday, April 11.

The banquet recognizes the outstanding achievements that students in the Forensic and Investigative Sciences program have done during the year.


Dr. Craig Coates, left, receives the Professor of the Year award from AFIS member Dominic Burke.

After a moment of silence and an Italian style dinner, Aggie Forensic and Investigative Sciences Organization member Olivia Nirider updated the audience on the various activities that AFISO members and other students were involved in through the year.

Professor and Associate Department Head for Academic Programs Dr. Pete Teel gave a very inspiring and motivational keynote speech to the audience. He told students to keep pursuing their dreams and to be prepared but not discouraged when there are any twists and turns in achieving those dreams.

Teel said that the group graduating in May was graduating at a perfect time when the greatest challenge of agriculture is feeding the people of the world. He noted that entomology, as well as public health entomology issues are of the forefront of today’s agricultural educational community.


Emily Grimshaw, left, receives a certificate honoring her as the AFIS Outstanding Student of the Year from Dominic Burke.

“Your presence here is recognition enough of your success in your career paths,” Teel said. “You are definitely in the right place at the right time.”

He also told them to make sure that they are planned for any unexpected events that may come about during their stages of life after graduation.

“Life will throw many things at you, including achievements, risks, roadblocks, and change,” he said. “It’s always good to have a backup plan.”

Several awards and scholarships were announced, including the unveiling of the 2013-2014 Scholars Society. This year’s members are: Chelsea Gould, Jason Gould, Andrew Ly, Devin Beach and Barrett Riddle.

Scholarships were also given to the following Forensics students:

Barrett Riddle – Fowden G. and Katherine G. Maxwell Scholarship

Kelsey Muniz – Manning A. Price Scholarship

Caitlin Evers – Dial and Eva Martin Memorial Scholarship

Jeffrey Ng – Paul Truman Riherd Memorial Scholarship

Cindy Rodriguez – Dr. Wharton Outstanding Faculty Scholarship

Sarah Norman – Department of Entomology Scholarship

Jacqueline Wenzlaff – Department of Entomology Scholarship

There also were several special awards given out by AFIS, including the Professor of the Year and the outsdanding member of the year.

Dr. Craig Coates received the Professor of the Year while sophomore Emily Grimshaw was honored with the Outstanding FIVS Member of the Year award.

Officers for the 2013-2014 year were announced during the end of the banquet, which included the following students:

Sunday Saenz – President

Olivia Nirider – Vice President

Emily Grimshaw – Treasurer

Angela Ruffino – Secretary

Stephanie Stratta – Historian

Devin Beach – Activities Coordinator

Comments are closed.